Happy New Year..Off and Running

The first race of 2017 is done; I was there but I wasn’t running 😦 As you already know and I have previously posted I’m on the bench until I’m physically able to run. Although I’m not able to run it does not mean I can’t go and support my peeps who are running. It’s January 1st and the temps were in the 50’s it was a nice day for a race. This was the first race of this winter series, there are several going on in the area. We have to complete all three races to get the jacket and medal at the end of the series (I’m out now for those). The next race in the series is January 29th and the last one is February 14th.

It was weird to being on the sidelines watching everyone get ready for the race, take off and waiting for them to return. But as you know the role of the spectator is important to those who run the races; which is why I wanted to be there. I didn’t want to sit home and sulk because I couldn’t run in the race when there was nothing stopping me from cheering people on as they started and crossed the finished line, so I did. I watched as just about everyone crossed; I didn’t stay for the awards I stood for so long my leg started to hurt so I had to leave.  But I’m glad I went to support everyone. I don’t make resolutions but my wish for the year is people keep it positive and let go of the hate and nastiness and be more supportive of one another.

If you ran any races today or just went for a run I hope they went well and you had a great start to your 2017.

~~Tammi

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year..Off and Running”

Leave a Reply

