31 Day Blog Challenge: Meaning of My Name

This is supposed to be the meaning of my business name which I guess is for those who use their blogs for business. Since this is a personal running blog I’ll just give the meaning of my name Tammi. It’s not my formal name as I mentioned in the previous post it’s the name I prefer and answer to. 🙂 When I looked up the meaning of my name this is what I found.

Tammi is uncommon as a baby name for girls. At the height of its usage in 1968 (the year I was born by the way), 0.051% of baby girls were given the name Tammi. It ranked at #296 then. The baby name has since markedly fallen in popularity, and is used only on a very modest scale now. Within all girl names in its group, Tammi was nonetheless the most frequently used in 2015.  Source: http://www.babynamespedia.com/meaning/Tammi

I think I was named after Tami from Marvin Gaye and Tami Terrell which I think would have been around 1968.

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

Leave a Reply

