31 Day Blog Challenge: Earliest Childhood Memory

Today’s post is taking me back a bit; I hear people talk about real early memories of their childhoods but I can’t say that I have those. I know they exist and to be quiet frank most are not very pleasant. So the first that I specifically recall is when I was five years old; I was in kindergarten. I was sitting at one of those tables like in a cafeteria and on the other side of the table was this girl, Cindy, she had her back to the window the sunlight was shining through across the table. I was extremely shy when I was little so it odd for me to go up to someone I didn’t know. We sat across from each other for a few minutes looking at each other; she had a look on her face and even that young I thought something was bothering her (I was already a therapist in the making) because my first words were “what’s wrong with you?” At 5 years old I’m asking someone what’s wrong them! Ha! And with that began a 38 year friendship. I still find it hard to believe I’ve know someone for 38 years..how time goes by..However, December 31, 2011 was the last time Cindy and I spoke to each other. Things change, people change, and as they say people come into our lives for a season. I can’t say I know what really happened between us besides we started growing in different directions…I know after 38 years…but what ya gonna do…the circle of life…

wp-1483579378226.jpg
This is Cindy and me with our friend Brain at my birthday party in 2009. I’ve changed so much since then.. 🙂

 

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

Leave a Reply

