31 Day Blog: 3 Personality Traits I’m Proud of

Three personality traits that I’m proud of interesting if I was doing this a few years ago I may not have been able to come up with anything…but times have changed or rather I have changed I and now I can jot three of these babies down:

The first one would be I’m loyal. It’s the one characteristic or personality trait many of my friends have said about me time after time. I will stand by and support my friends through it all even when I probably shouldn’t; a hard lesson to learn. Heck I’ve been a Dallas Cowboys fan since way before Dak and Zeke; I’m tellin you I’m loyal. Just don’t cross me. I will be honest, I have been disappointed when I have found the loyalty that I have had with some friends has not always been reciprocal, another hard lesson to learn.

Secondly, I’m determined, when I set my mind to do something I typically do it. When I started training for my first 5k there were moments when I didn’t think I would be able to do it. A friend reminded me of that by telling me “Tammi have you ever set a goal you didn’t make?” and she was right. If I set goal I’m determined to meet it. I remember when I was in college there were times when it was just hard and my academic advisor was no help and honestly discouraging telling me she didn’t think I would graduate. Well she didn’t know what my plans were I had to get my degree! There were no other options it was my degree or bust! Now here I am working towards my doctorate degree! She’ll know next time to tell someone what they can’t do. 🙂

The last one I don’t know if I’m necessarily proud of it or have just learned to embrace it. I have always been a quiet person (I know those who know might find it hard to believe) but growing up I was crazy shy. So sometime in meetings or large gatherings that part of me returns and I will sit back and take it all in; which some may misinterpret as not knowing or understanding. But trust when I do speak I know what is going on; I’m not one who needs to be the center of attention, talking all the time, dropping names, letting people know I’m the smartest person in the room. Sometimes it’s best to be quiet.

wp-1483753305000.jpg

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

Leave a Reply

