31 Day Blog Challenge: 10 Favorite Foods

Favorite foods this blog challenge keeps getting interesting so here is a list of my ten favorite foods in no particular order:

  1. Chips and salsa. I could make a meal out of chips and salsa! I could eat Mexican a few times a week; that’s how much I love it. My favorite place to go is Mi Cocina de Amor  the best Mexican restaurant in town, in my opinion, with the best chips and salsa..yum!
  2. French Fries..love ’em.
  3. Fresh baked bread..I switched to wheat bread years ago..but every once in awhile I gotta have hot fresh baked bread with butter.
  4. My chicken Alfredo..I can make a mean homemade Alfredo sauce
  5. My grandmothers sugar plum pudding…she only makes this at the holidays. Since she is 92 she has someone else make it under her supervision. It is too die for! I have to confess I tried to make it; mine does not turn out as good as hers even under her supervision. Bummer. I also don’t eat as much of it as I used to because it’s so rich. Sacrifices come with lifestyle changes.
  6. Strawberry ice cream
  7. A good prime rib
  8. It’s not quite a favorite but I’m learning to like it since I started making food changes..fresh salmon. I’ve learned how to fix it so that it doesn’t taste bad 🙂
  9. Baked sweet potatoes the way my grandmother fixes them..the best!
  10. I know a there are many who don’t like hot dogs…but there is nothing like a West Virginia hot dog.

I’ve made a lot of changes in my diet since I started running and for other health reasons as well. Moderation is key as well as portion size; I’ve been able to do this particularly during the holidays. I haven’t had the large helping size plate the last few holiday seasons I usually have a small plate with small portions. To which my grandmother always says “did you get enough to eat?” She’s from the old school and worries about everyone eating; of course she’s 92 and has lived through more than I will ever know or experience so I get it.

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

Leave a Reply

