Unexpected Changes

Life is full of changes it’s the one constant that we can always count on; why so many resistant change I will never know. As you know I’ve “been on the bench” since I’ve had my issues with my knee/leg. That was/is an adjustment that has caused me to miss a race and quite possibly the next one coming up on January 29th the second one in the series I registered for this winter. The next big change came when I got an email from my academic advisor with an updated schedule of courses that pushed my graduation back from 2018 to 2019; in part due to the research courses related to the dissertation. I called it a punt on the football field of life…not happy about this unexpected change but I’ll adjust and move forward just as I am with my leg. But just as with my knee and leg there are some things I can do. I can double up on a class or two during a semester when I won’t be too overwhelmed. As for my leg/knee I can continue to do stretches and other exercises to help the healing process.

I work with a population for the most part many of them the first thing they say is “I don’t like change”. Well for as long as we live, as sure as the seasons change, we are going to have change in our lives. So we may as well accept it, stop resisting it, and learn to cope with it when it happens. What gets us into trouble and frustrated is how we respond to change. But what I know for sure is mindfulness and gratitude can help anyone through any change no matter how easy or difficult.

wp-1485220117168.jpg

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

2 thoughts on “Unexpected Changes”

  1. Equilibrium = Death, they say in the sciences. If you are not constantly undergoing change, you ain’t living. It’s how resilient we are in handling changes not of our own making that dictates how well we will cope. I’ll bet you’ve got a great skill set in that area. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

