First Training Session Done

I met with a personal trainer this evening I told him what has been going on so he started me out with a warm up on the treadmill with a high incline and an attempted a speed of about 3.2 or so but my leg was uh..nope! It was pulling and the pain was sharp. So he took it down in incline and speed. Once he did that it felt a little better and my leg started to loosen up. It is amazing how much we can lose when we stop moving. After a few minutes I could tell my leg was adjusting but the trainer (TR) had me stop and walk backwards on the treadmill to take some of the pressure off my leg. I did that for a few minutes and then I turned back around and he had me pick up the pace just a little; I ended up doing about ten minutes at a pace of about 2.6 or so, I don’t exactly remember. There was a woman on the treadmill next to me running her little heart out I thought “that used to me”; but in due time.

After the treadmill TR had me doing squats (50) with a band, can I just say ouch! He said we had to build the knee back up and make it strong. I gave him 50 and he wanted me to do 50 more with the band but my knee would not corporate, it hurt like you would not believe! So I did a modified version and did another 50. My leg felt better it was much loser more than it had been in a long time. After the squats he had me do several of the leg machines. He works with athletes, he told me when he’s working with people who have injuries like mine it takes a lot of lower body work to build the strength back up to support the activity. He told me I still can’t run my leg is too weak and I could damage it and risk possible surgery. But he said I could probably be back out there in about two weeks if we work about three times per week “I’m going to push you” he said; Ole dude is no joke! We did about 30 minutes today he said when working with the type of injury that I have that’s about all he typically will do. When we were done I felt okay my leg felt good and lose but trust and believe I am going to feel this tomorrow! 🙂

We  are going to meet again on Friday then set up a schedule to go from there. My membership at Planet Fitness is toast! The trainers there were subpar to say the least it was hard to get them to work with me and when I did getting them to stay focused was another problem. I don’t even think some of them knew what they were doing. I’m excited about what’s ahead but this is not going to be a picnic by any means….

wp-1485392484955.png

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

4 thoughts on “First Training Session Done”

Leave a Reply

