Be Careful What You Wish For…

I’ve been working with a trainer to strengthen my leg and my knee; it seems to be working. I haven’t been running yet he told me today maybe this weekend I could try a light jog for about a mile but nothing to strenuous. Okay, ole dude is no joke he really puts us through a workout! I start on the treadmill at a ridiculously high incline “gotta get your knee strong” he says; I’m on that about ten minutes to warm up. Today we did upper body, so there were weights, crunches (YUCK), lunges around the gym, planks, you name it. I did a few leg lifts, but we did lower body the other day so it was a rest day..I finished on the elliptical, and let me just say who ever invented this machine is a shepherd for the devil! So another ten minutes again at a ridiculously high incline but I did it..whew! The session finished with another variation of lunges around the gym.

I asked for this, yes I did..I know I need it. My left side is the weaker side, not just my leg. When I was lifting weights even my left arm was weaker than my right. But my leg is doing much better it’s not sore I didn’t have to stop during any of the workout, at least not because of my leg.. 🙂 Also lifting the 20 pound weights helped to release some tension in my neck, I may feel different about that in the morning but right now it feels pretty good and loose. I realize how important cross training is for runners this can only improve my running..Tomorrow will be two months since I last ran…and it’s true if you don’t use it you will lose it. I’m amazed how much I’ve lost as far as my running in just two months. Walking on the treadmill during the warm up I was thinking my pace must be almost back to where I started of course I know I was on serious incline but none the less I’ve got some miles to make up.

wp-1487296463341.jpg

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

4 thoughts on “Be Careful What You Wish For…”

  1. Planks? Oooh Lord, I hate me some planks! I feel like I’m going to pop a hernia and a hemorrhoid both at the same time. But they must be good for you if it hurts that much. I’m happy to hear you are recovering and will most likely be back on the road soon. And I agree, you do lose it so-o-o-o quickly. Every time I do a long run, I relearn that lesson. At Mile 4 of my 7.5 miler today, I wanted to lay down on the sidewalk and cry but I kept pushing these fat haunches along (mostly because I was too far from home LOL). Keep up the good work! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

