Back On the Pavement..Easy 2 Miles

It’s been two month since my run last; today I was back on the pavement. My trainer told me I could do an “easy jog” about a mile or a mile and a half this weekend. It just so happened the Genesis Grad Group was doing a run at 7 am this morning. I had every intention of meeting up with the group it’s been awhile since I’ve seen everyone. Well I haven’t been sleeping very well since I took my doctoral qualifying exam a few weeks ago (haven’t gotten the results yet) and last night a barely slept at all. When I did get to sleep, when I woke up it was ten minutes to seven; no way was I going to make it to the group run. I sent a text to them and just laid in bed for a little longer. I did get up, got ready and went for a run I was just an hour later than I had planned.

I got out there about 8:30, sunny, 45 degrees or so. I’m a still a little sore from the previous workout, we didn’t get to workout yesterday; when I arrived at the gym I found out TR, our trainer, his grandfather was in the hospital and the family was preparing to take him off the ventilator so of course he was at the hospital.  Anyway, I started my run with a brisk walk for a warm-up, then I started a slow run (jog). I didn’t wear my knee brace, not sure if that was a good idea or not. I was monitoring my heart rate as well so when it was too high I walked which was probably a good idea to do since it was my first time out in two months. It felt good to be back out but I could definitely tell it had been awhile, my breathing was heavy. I did a mile out and on the way back, I noticed I was over a mile and half, and yes my knee was aching a little (should have had the brace on) but I thought since I’m almost at two miles, I may as well finish it out. It would be a shame to come close to two miles and not complete it, I mean really. So I did! My pace is slower than it was two months ago 😦  but I guess that’s to be expected. I was happy I went out and completed the run I did see some fellow Genesis Grads while I was out. I may have over did it a little, I have to remember to take it easy it won’t be a quick fix and I don’t want to risk further injury..it was nice to be back on the pavement. 🙂

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

2 thoughts on “Back On the Pavement..Easy 2 Miles”

Leave a Reply

