Over One Hurdle..Another Still To Go

Happy Fat Tuesday! It’s been a week since my last post and frankly it’s been quite slow as far as my training has goes. My trainer cancelled on me last week due to a family dinner they were having regarding his grandfather and I haven’t heard from him since. Not sure what’s up. I haven’t been back out for a run since my last two miles last week. I know now I probably should have just done the mile and half my leg/knee were sore. If I stand while I’m lecturing in group at work I’m finding I can’t do it for long periods of time I eventually have to sit because of the pressure on my left side. I’m not sure what to do at this point I don’t like feeling discouraged and I know the longer I’m not running the longer it will take to come back. I’m also concerned about weight gain from not being as active as I was when I was running regularly. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ย This running thing is the hurdle I have yet get over.

The hurdle I did get over was I found out yesterday I passed my doctoral qualifying exam!! I was at work when I got the email notifying me of the results. I yelled out so loud I know they heard me down the hall! HA! I was so excited..I have been so anxious since I submitted my exam I literally have not slept since. So now I can go on with my research classes into the dissertation as an official doctoral student..I’m a part of the club!

Now if I can just get my running groove back….

wp-1488328835600.jpg

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelorโ€™s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Masterโ€™s Degree. Iโ€™m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

4 thoughts on “Over One Hurdle..Another Still To Go”

Leave a Reply

