Accountability

I was thinking last night about accountability I talk about it all the time with my clients. One of the reasons I started this blog was in part to hold myself accountable to finish my first 5k. Joining the Genesis Training Program was part of that as well; being part of the group and paying the money held me accountable to be there every week and to meet my running buddy Rich on the days we had to do our solo runs. If he was expecting I was less likely to not show. Having group support helps us to remain accountable for our behavior. However, it has to be a good support system. As I’ve mentioned recently I’ve been working with a trainer to help strengthen my leg and knee; but the trainer hasn’t been very reliable recently. Now I know his grandfather passed away in the last few weeks but when I would text him to find out when we would meet it would a day or two before he would get back to me or he would text me just out of the blue “tonight and 6” what?! I need to at least have some notice so I can bring my clothes with me to change into, geeze!

It’s difficult to be held accountable to the workout if the trainer isn’t being accountable. Knowing someone was expecting me kept me motivated to get out on those mornings and run even when I wasn’t feeling it. When I was doing the Genesis Program I was expected to be there with that group and do each session to meet the goal of finishing the race. Now I don’t have that and I miss it, I need it. Especially since I’m having trouble with my damn knee and leg! I tried again today at the gym because we have had some crazy thunder storms today. I did what the trainer had me do on the treadmill, I was on it for ten minutes but at one point just before I hit a mile I came down on my knee and I yelled out just a little the woman next to me looked at me but kept on moving. It was a sharp pain in my knee, I had the patella band on but I knew I had better stop. So I went to the stationery bike and did ten minutes on it. My leg/knee felt a little better I thought; I came home showered and as I sit here writing this I have an ice pack on my knee. I honestly don’t know what to do, so I sent an email to both of the coaches I had with the Genesis Program to seek their advice. I miss going to that group every week not that I can do anything right now but it was cool to be held accountable to be there. I have joined the local running group here in town (Kanawha Running Club) but with this injury I haven’t been able to go.

Happy running….take care of yourselves…

wp-1488414055962.jpg

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

2 thoughts on “Accountability”

  1. Having your trainer disappear on you has to be totally frustrating, especially when that seems like it’s been a crucial bright spot on the horizon. I hope you get back with him soon or that the two coaches have some ideas. Having the will and the drive but not being able to do you want is beyond irritating. The average person who sits on the couch couldn’t begin to understand that feeling!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re right it is frustrating. One of the coaches did get back to and gave me the name of of PT who does good assessments and could probably get to the root of the problem. He also said a trainer probably couldn’t do what I needed. So I’m going to call him tomorrow 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

