The Verdict Is In…

Today I finally saw a doctor about my knee and leg. It seems I have damaged my meniscus in my left knee. When the doctor was examining me she immediately noticed my knee was swollen. So she recommended that I start icing it four times a day, get an x-ray so they can have some images of it, start physical therapy, and she gave me a prescription for a gel called Voltaren to use four times a day as well. She also told me to get one of those knee brace things from Wal-Mart or some place to help when I’m standing, because I haven’t been able to stand for long periods of time without it starting to hurt. I had the x-ray done today and I start seeing the physical therapist on Monday. She also scheduled an appointment with an ortho about 6-8 weeks out just in case. The down side to all of this is I won’t be able to run the The Greenbrier Half-Marathon in May that I registered for 😦 total bummer! That shirt and medal were so cool…plus I would have gotten to stay one night at Greenbrier.

In the big scheme of things this is just a small setback, a moment in time, that I know will pass. Running has become my meditation, my space to step away from the stresses of the day and chill. I didn’t realize how much I used it until I couldn’t. So if I do as I’m told I should be back out there soon. I’ll keep you posted on my progress as it goes along 🙂

Oh I decided to change themes for a something a little different and lighter 🙂

wp-1488583057044.jpg

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

3 thoughts on “The Verdict Is In…”

  1. Oh phooey…a meniscus injury! I hope the PT works and you are back to 100% as soon as possible! I’ve been sidelined by injuries multiple times over the years (Achilles and plantar fascia trouble), and I know how you feel. I did PT for my Achilles once for 6 weeks, 3 days a week, 90 minutes a session (before work) and it really did help even though it was a pain in the butt to keep going all the time. I still do the exercises they gave me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m staying optimistic. It is a pain that I can’t do a anything now but I know I have to take of myself so I can get back out there. So it may be the elliptical and stationery bike for awhile 😁

      Like

  2. Hi, great post! I am modeling my blog to be fitness inspiration and definitely want to use content like this. I look forward to seeing more of your ideas!

    Like

Leave a Reply

