The Latest Syndrome

Today I met with the physical therapist Coach Matt recommended, Mark Nichols, he did a full body assessment of me. He’s really nice guy, he first had me just to stand in front of him and then walk back and forth. He immediately saw I was afraid to put weight on my left side as a result my body has adapted over the last many months, probably since late last spring, so my right side is stronger in a sense but it’s thrown my gait off. I’m extremely (no exaggeration) tight on my left side from literally my foot to my up to my neck, which is contributing to neck and back pain in addition to headaches. He didn’t think it was my meniscus but bursitis in my knee, ankle, hip, and another place, I don’t even remember because my first reaction was “that’s an old people disease”; to which he said “no it’s a problem runners have from time to time”. He measured how far I could bend my foot back towards my leg and well, with my left leg, he said I had zero, that’s zero movement, and that discomfort I could feel all the way up to my neck. It was insane. On the right I was on target I think it was 115 degrees; felt completely different.

He put me through the tests and I tell ya…my left side is weak. He said it has probably been like that for some time, it just took the running to bring it to the surface and expose it. So he said I probably have Lower Cross Syndrome:

wp-1488845680603.jpg

In addition to Upper Cross Syndrome:

wp-1488845696251.jpg

Honestly I felt like a hot mess. He said because my profession as a therapist I have to sit all day, then I decided to get up and start running a year and a half ago..it threw my body off, as I said earlier the running just brought the problem to the surface. I need to strength train particularly upper body and basically retrain how I walk, sit, even in my car, breath, the works. Fortunately, the therapist who had my office before me left a ball chair in there and it can be helpful with this process as well.

wp-1488852804058.jpg
My new ball chair

I still won’t be able to run the marathon in May..bummer..but hopefully I will be ready in the fall. My next appointment is Wednesday… I’m staying positive I can make these changes it will be some retraining of my brain and body…You guys know I like the Rocky movies, at least the first three..and Bruce Lee was THE MAN. If you haven’t seen the Bruce Lee Story I highly recommend it. If he can come back from that injury..then I got this…cue the Rocky music..

 

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

Leave a Reply

