No Running Allowed

I had my second session with the physical therapist today. I meant to get a few pictures but I had to get to a conference call immediately after and I forgot to take them. Monday was my first session and the day after I was really sore; it felt like I had done a serious workout when all he had me do was a series of stretches. My left side is so weak any amount of stretching was going to lead to soreness the next day. I have exercises to do at home one is the 90-90 Hip Lift With Ballon (see below) I didn’t realize I wasn’t breathing from my diaphragm and I was using my back more than my hips, so it took me several times to get this down, that’s why he had me use the ballon. He said I was probably using doing the same thing when I ran, using my back more than my hips; which meant I was more than likely running arched putting stress on my back.

Mark said in order to fix my knee we have to work on the whole system. Which makes sense; I tell my clients the same thing. We aren’t just working on drugs and alcohol we are working the whole system, mind body, and spirit. Today when we went through some of the stretches it wasn’t as bad as Monday, there was even some movement in my left foot. YAY! He used a small roller on the lower part of my left leg close to my ankle and when he did that, it was amazing there was even more movement and I could walk a little better. Dang it’s tight! For the now though there is no running allowed…when he said that..I heard that song from the Charlie Brown Movie Snoopy Come Home in my head..No Dogs Allowed..ha! So for now there’s no running allowed I may not like it but I do know it’s necessary..and that’s okay..

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

4 thoughts on “No Running Allowed”

  1. I need to do some serious catching up on your blog. Just read this and was horrified. I’m going to bed, but I’ll be binge reading tomorrow. I’ve been super busy and have not even written a lot on my own blog. We moved at Christmas and things are just settling down for me now. It sounds like you are doing everything within your power to ensure a good recovery. If I have anything at all to add, I’ll let you know. Much love to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh golly, I sure hope you’re better soon! I learned similar painful lessons when I was sidelined with Achilles tendonitis a few years ago. It was the first time I heard the term “posterior chain”. My physical therapist worked everything from my back down to my toes. When I got Iliotibial Band Syndrome, I figured out that I needed hip and glute strength as well as flexilibilty so then I started working those too. Honestly, there’s so much work that goes into being a runner but doesn’t happen on the pavement! It’s too bad most of us learn that through injury. I’m gonna look at the YouTube video you recommended because maybe that’s something we should all be doing. Thanks for sharing, and I will send positive vibes, healing thoughts and prayers your way.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

