A New Twist

I met with my physical therapist today the news wasn’t the best. I guess I need to start with yesterday to give the full picture. Yesterday was Substance Abuse Advocacy Day at our Capital, the Legislative Session is in process; so I was hanging out with the Gov of the State of WV yesterday (ha!). Anyway, our state capital is big there was a lot of walking and some of the chairs when I did sit weren’t very comfortable. So there were times I had to stand because I was uncomfortable because my left side was just hurting, from my lower back down my left leg. I was able to stay most of the day but to be honest I was not very comfortable at all. I was leaning against walls, chairs and bending over to alleviate the pain. About 2 or so I had to call it a day I had to get to an ice pack/heating pad or something. I left but I had to walk about a block to my car, interestingly enough it’s the route on the opposite side of the street that I typically run only this time I was walking and I had to stop and sit on edge of the capital steps due to the pain on my  left side. I remember thinking there is no way on earth I can even think about running anytime soon when walking hurts this much. When I got to my car I have a tennis ball in there and I put it right in the lower part of my back/hip and there was instant relief. I spent the rest of the day on a heating pad.

Fast forward to today. I was still in a little bit of pain; so I took the roller the physical therapist gave me to work with me to help smooth out sore spots. It helped I had some troubles today. I would have to sit and stand throughout the day, my clients thought was crazy. I met with Mark today, gave him a recap of yesterday. He said he thought there was a possibility there may be something else going on because I should have some improvements by now. Particularly given where the pain is located in my lower back. Instead of my L4 and L5 he thinks it could be maybe my L1. Now matter what, he said I should see my Dr and have an X-ray of my back. He thinks there may be some things that didn’t feel “right” as he examined my back and he didn’t want to waste any of my PT sessions. I was upset and he knew it; he explained the importance of being sure that what is being treated is what needs to be treated. He asked me if I was upset with him, of course I wasn’t I just didn’t like what I was hearing. I feel like I’m no closer to getting better or back to running. I had every intention of writing about a podcast I listened to today with Anna Foster, a trail runner, she was talking about not getting back into running until the body wants it. But visit to the physical therapist changed that. I have no idea now when that will happen. I really miss it. I was the best stress reliever I’ve ever used and it got to the point it was fun. I really could have used it yesterday too; I ran into a someone I had not talked to in a couple of years, that I’ve really missed. Even though he said we were okay, I don’t believe our friendship will be the same and I was sad about it. A good run would have been helpful to process it.

Anyway, the physical therapist is putting my sessions on hold, not closing my case until I have an x-ray done of my back. I was really disappointed, so much so when I got in my car to go home, I just started to cry. Mark said my left side is still not strong but everything is on hold until my back can be checked out. No idea when I will be able to run again. 🤕

wp-1490310603696.jpg
Me with Gov Justice after the group picture was taken. Our group had been discussing the concerns about substance abuse in WV. I was in a little it of pain in this picture.
Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

11 thoughts on “A New Twist”

  1. I’m so sorry. You were so descriptive in your pain during your day at the Capitol, that I swear I could feel it as well! I’m glad that Mark has suggested the xray. In fact, I’d go further than that. I’d ask for an MRI. The Xray will not tell the complete story. An MRI will be able to give you soft tissue evaluation, e.g., ligament and tendon injury, spinal cord injury, etc. From your description of the pain and where you are feeling it and how it is relieved, even temporarily, really makes me think that an Xray might be inconclusive. An Xray is great if you suspect broken bones or diseased tissues, but what you are experiencing does not sound like that.

    PLEASE keep us updated and try not to dwell to much on the fact that you can’t run. Stay as positive as you can. xxx

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hey, really sorry to hear that. As you know I’ve got the same problem. Agree with Gail, an MRI is the way to go. When you have an injury like this you tend to hold yourself a certain way over a period of time, compensating for the weaker areas. I totally get your frustration. Have a look at the oestemat I was telling you about if you get a chance. It really is important to look after the noggin as well. I got very down at one stage. Wishing you the very best x

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

