Recovery is a Process

If you have read this blog then you know I am a substance abuse therapist. With the suspected diagnosis of compression fracture in my back I’m careful who I tell about it; for several reasons. One the OMG! response, which happened when I told the person who is now my in case of emergency contact. I changed this because the person I had has been acting like a bonehead I need a person who is reliable. So when I asked for permission to use her she obviously asked what was going on and up to this point I had not mentioned anything about it. The other response has been, “did you get that from running?” To which I will say no and say sitting all day is more harmful than running; that always leaves them scratching their heads! 😅

Yesterday I was looking for new end tables and a coffee table for my living room. Prior to that I had been to the grocery store for my grandmother and did a little cleaning for her. She turned 93 last month and it’s what I typically do on Saturdays. So I had lifted some heavy bags, cases of water, etc needless to say I was in a some pain before I left to do my errands. I was wearing a knee brace for support however. My grandmother’s other kids who live by and can help don’t (knuckleheads) so I’m the one who takes care of what she needs done no matter what. So I do what needs to be done for her because it has to be done. By the time I reached the furniture store I was hurting pretty good; the sales lady, Connie, could see it in my face, she was real nice. She explained she had also similar back issues at one time had a small surgery and other treatments and has been good ever since. The most positive response I have received. It was refreshing. She did say however, it took time and she had to be careful with what she did but she is good today. As we were picking out my tables she asked if I wanted to sit in this Zero Gravity Reclining Chair…okay, can I just say..OMG!! This was the best chair ever! First of all it was soft and comfortable that alone made it worth it. But then she said push the button on the side of the chair to recline it, I found my spot I felt the pain ease up…fabulous! Best chair ever! And it was on crazy sale! I didn’t buy it right then I called my grandmother to tell her about it and she asked me if I bought and that I should. That woman is funny. I had to come home to figure where I would put if I decided to get it; my living room isn’t that big. But I think I will get it.

On my way home I called a friend who had been asking what was going on so I told her, Dawn is always a positive person. While we were talking I told her I had to give in and no matter what is revealed by the MRI or x-ray I’m really going to have to let my body truly heal because recovery is process that takes time. I know I can be and have been hardheaded about this is mostly because I found something I like to do in running and I miss it a lot. In fact there is a group of Genesis Grads doing The Run The Bluegrass Half-Marathon in Kentucky this weekend and I’m totally jealous; but it’s not my time. I also have a business trip coming up at the end of the month in Sacramento, I’m not sure I will be able to sit for five hours on a plane even though by then we should have a better idea of what’s going on; that’s still a long time on a plane in an uncomfortable seat. Maybe I could Skype into it or something, we’ll see about that one.

I know I’m frustrated because my muscles have atrophied, I’m losing the fitness I’ve gained due to the inactivity and there has been a little bit of weight gain 🙁 So I’m wanting to rush getting better. However, recovery doesn’t work that way, it takes time and I’m going to have to be patient, learn the lessons I’m supposed to learn, do what I need to do, so I can heal, so I can be ready to get back out there and not re-injure myself…The same thing I tell my clients to do.  And as always do my best to keep it positive.

wp-1491149578212.jpg

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

4 thoughts on “Recovery is a Process”

  1. The hardest thing for an active person to do is to be inactive, particularly fur to injuries. The two times l have been inactive l try to keep in mind the long game. I want to run pain free and healthy for as long as l can. You can and will rebuild your fitness. Keep strong. You will come back better and stronger.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read your last 2 posts with tears in my eyes for you. This has been a painful and confusing process for you but you still remain positive about the outcomes! You are one tough lady. You have been given several diagnoses for your pain, and now another possibility! I am glad that you are having the X-ray and MRI to evaluate the extent of your injury. Keep your chin up and keep me posted on your progress.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

