The Results Are In…✉

I received the results of my MRI yesterday it turns out I have osteoarthritis in my joints as well spinal stenosis. My doctor referred me to a neurosurgeon, whose office called me today and I have an appointment next week; I couldn’t believe I was able to get in so quickly, but I’m so grateful and glad I did. The other option was pain management, which I don’t want, because all they is just that, manage pain, it doesn’t fix anything. If I want to be able to run again I want a solution not a band aid.

My friend Susan asked me how I was dealing with the information and honestly I’m not sure. I think the reason I didn’t write this post yesterday was because I was still processing the information. It was also not a good day, I was in a lot of pain yesterday, I had to lay flat a lot which made for an interesting work day..ha! Anyway, I’m not someone who thinks in terms of being old, in fact you will not hear me say “oh I’m getting old”. As I said in my last post what we think we become so I do my best to watch how I think and allow to come into my space. But when I heard the word osteoarthritis “old” was the first thing that came to my mind. I didn’t want to become an old person. (BTW I did one of the biological age quizzes and mine was 35, I know it’s all in fun but I’m just sayin 😃 ) I had to googled spinal stenosis and you all know how the internet can be…blah. Anyway, I was supposed to be going to Sacramento next week for a meeting but I know I would not be comfortable at all especially on a five hour flight. Right now I’m alternating between sitting and standing because I can’t do either comfortably for long periods of time. Also the venue of our actual meeting was moved from the hotel to about a half a mile away, so if wanted to make a quick exit to go lay down that was no longer an option. So since I’m chair of a committee I informed them I couldn’t physically be there but if possible and necessary I could be there via Skype, total bummer, especially since I have a non-refundable plane ticket! But it’s all good the doctor was able to get me in next week so it all works out. I think the sooner I see him the better; it wouldn’t be good to prolong that appointment. And everyone understood so there was no problems, my co-chair has everything under control, I’ll miss seeing everyone though..🙁 Oh, and Susan asked if I wanted her to go the the doctor appointment with me next week..she’s the best!

That’s the update for now. Until next time~~~

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

8 thoughts on “The Results Are In…✉”

    1. Tammi
      Hope the appointment with Neurologist gives you answers & plans to decrease your pain & enable you to get back to running. Keeping you in my prayers!
      Nancy

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Girl you alright!!! No worries, no problems, all cool man! Maybe that’s a way to get you to Lay Down and Rest, hallelujah! Gods blessings come in how they see fit! And maybe that’s a way for you to meet a cute, single doctor, I’m just saying. LOL I Love You and that’s all that matter. Love heals and that’s the TRUTH!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

