No News is Good News…I Think

I had my appointment with the neurosurgeon today my wing women Susan was with me, like I said before she’s just fabulous. She went in with me to see the doctor, Dr. Schmidt, who by the way is just the coolest, laid back, straight forward dude. Susan took notes the whole time. Anyway, when we got back in the room, one of Dr. Schmidt’s assistants came in to talk to me first while he was reading the MRI disk. I can’t remember her name but I think she was a Nurse Practitioner, I think I blocked on her name because when she came in she spoke to me in that ridiculous high pitched voice, with her eyes really wide as if I was six years old. Why do people do that?! I came so close to asking her “why are talking to me like that?” but I didn’t because I didn’t want to come off rude or be labeled a “difficult patient”. Susan noticed it too and it’s a pet peeve of both of ours. Honestly that drives me crazy I don’t even it think it’s appropriate to talk to a six year old like that. Susan said “you know when a 70 year old comes in there she does the same thing”.

Anyway, she did an examination asked some questions (😡) told me she noticed pretty much what everyone had noticed, weakness on the left side, poor flexibility on the left side and of course the pain in my lower back. She poked me in my back which irritated my pain..blah! So Dr. Schmidt comes in, he’s an older gentlemen and he hops (literally) up on the examination table and starts his speech. You know there is good news, he says, he had looked at my pictures from my MRI and my spine looked okay, said some things that happen with age (whatever) but he didn’t see any bulging disks or anything like that; he said my spine looked fine and I would not need surgery (great!). He said however, “we still don’t know what’s wrong with you and why you are having this pain in your back an down your leg”. Long story short, he is going to refer me back to my neurologist for an EMG, no idea what that is, I’ve not been on Dr. Google, but apparently it has something to do with checking the nerves. He is also going to refer me to pain management, which he could tell by my reaction I didn’t want. He then said those are the experts who can handle this; to which I said I don’t want to manage the pain, I want this resolved. I almost broke down in tears, instead I became frustrated.

I asked if I could run or exercise, he told me as far as my back was concerned he thought it was safe, he saw no problems. I told him if I stand too long I start to hurt so how on earth can I do that? He didn’t have an answer. I’ve been so frustrated and preoccupied with this today it took me awhile before I could form the words to write this post. I don’t know what do, even as I write this I’m hurting. There were some folks who were texting me today to find out how it went, and I was getting crap back like “maybe they will start you on Lyrica” or “is it fibromyalgia”. Really people?? I don’t want medicine! Not that I’m putting medicine down, but we live in culture that is so pill dependent, have you watched TV lately? Every other commercial is about some medication..and I want to know what’s up not mask it!

So I think I will look into this new place that does aerial yoga called Yoga Power. You can get a week free to try it out so I have nothing to lose; who knows it may help. Susan thought that was a good idea too. My left side is still weak and the longer this goes on the weaker it will get; that can’t be good. I can’t keep waiting for the doctors. Or maybe I need to go somewhere else like Cleveland Clinic. I’m already going to miss the half-marathon next month and I’ve already registered for one in the fall I don’t want to miss that one too; not to mention all the 5k’s going on right now. I miss all of that as well as the people I’ve met in the running community.

That’s the update. My apologizes for it not being as positive as I usually try to keep my post I’m in the middle of a moment but it will pass.

wp-1493250115551

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

8 thoughts on “No News is Good News…I Think”

  1. While it’s great news that there are no bulging discs, I get your frustration. What you might take out of this is that it is safe to do some gentle excersise. This might help with the head part?

    Like

  2. Ugh, I hate hate hate it when medical professionals talk down to you! Seriously, just because someone isn’t a doctor or nurse or whatever doesn’t mean that they’re stupid and don’t understand what’s going on! I especially hate when they don’t listen to what you’re trying to say and then tell you “hey, this is what’s going on with you” without the information you were trying to get across to them. Like seriously, just because you’re a doctor doesn’t mean you know more about my body than I do…lol well that kind of turned into a rate. But I’ve had issues with medical professionals in the past, so I totally understand how you feel. Especially about them just wanting to throw pills at people instead of trying to treat the underlying issues. Anyway, I hope you get this all figured out! And who knows, maybe the yoga really will help! I don’t want to sound like one of those crazy people who think yoga can heal EVERYTHING, but I did read a book once about the healing powers of yoga, and it totally convinced me that we really can help our bodies heal themselves when we connect our bodies to our minds and to our breath. Obviously yoga alone won’t do it (although author of this book sure seemed to believe that), but I think it really can help in certain situations! Wishing you the best of luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 1. If talked to in the manner you describe, I mimic it back to them. Never had a time when the tone didn’t change immediately. The only exception to that? If a waiter or waitress talks that way to me. Not going to gamble with the food situation. As soon as the food is safely at my table though? It’s on!!! LOL

    2. It’s GREAT news that you are going to be getting an EMG. It’s a diagnostic procedure to assess the health of muscles and the nerve cells that control them. This is most likely what your problem is, based on the good MRI. It is fabulous news that your spine is healthy!! YAY!! I understand the frustration, but I know it is merely out of just not knowing. It won’t shock me at all if your EMG shows clearly nerve dysfunction, muscle dysfunction or problems with nerve-to-muscle signal transmission. This is a good thing, because you know what you are dealing with and you can then treat it appropriately.

    3. If I were you I’d get myself to a pilates class stat. Your aerial Yoga is also a brilliant idea. Not everyone is suited to it though, which is why I am suggesting a basic mat Pilates class. I’ve seen it work miracles. I know you want to avoid medication. That might not be realistic, but Pilates (or Yoga) might mitigate the need.

    You’re going to be fine, no matter what happens. I hope that EMG gets done soon!

    xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Gail!! That’s so helpful and fabulously positive! Also thanks for telling me what the EMG is. I will check into the Pilates class I’m not sure we have any in the area but o could be wrong. The disadvantage of living in a small rural state. It I will check. Thanks again!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

