Yoga Power

I had my first beginner yoga class this morning at Yoga Power. I thought I would be able to do the aerial yoga but given my current issues they recommend starting with the basic beginner yoga class, which was cool. The place is fabulous! It’s really nice I can see why in the year that it’s been open it has gained in popularity. There were three other ladies in this morning class, obviously regulars because they talked as if they knew each other well; even so they were very welcoming, as was the instructor Janice.

I had already registered over the phone a few days before, gotten my check in info on the MindBody App, so all I needed to do was complete just a couple pages paperwork when I go there. Janice already had some information about my back and she told me to do what I can and modify the poses as necessary. The class was an hour, I did pretty well and didn’t have to modify as much as I thought I would. The only pose that really felt difficult was the pyramid close towards the end other than that I did fine. I felt good when I left better than I did when I arrived as I was in some pain when I got there not so much when I left. That was great. 👍 I did notice I’m not really as flexible as the woman next to me. She was able to go all the way flat to the floor, touching her toes, and everything. I was like wow! But I know that takes time to get but I was truly impressed. Anyway, I have a free week and I’m going to use it, if one session helped like this I can only image what a full week will do.

I had dinner last night with a friend to celebrate her birthday and she gave me a great book called Break Through Pain: A Step by Step Mindfulness Meditation Program for Transforming Chronic and Acute Pain. So now it’s about alternative approaches. I’m not going to not follow through with the doctor appointments, I will be a “good patient” but I’m now going to explore the alternatives as well.

20170430_082750
Here’s the studio we were in this morning. One of several. Like I said the place is fabulous and it’s gorgeous. 

 

 

20170430_111600
The book my friend gave me
Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

14 thoughts on “Yoga Power”

  1. I’ve rehabbed my various body parts with yoga more than once. I’ll bet this well help you a lot and even keep you from getting injured in the future if you stick with it. I just pulled out of a 10k because of ankle tendonitis, which could have been avoided if I hadn’t fallen back into the habit of blowing off stretching when time got short. Flexibility and serenity as well are the benefits you will reap.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

