Who Inspires You?

That was a question I asked my groups this week at work. Actually, I asked who their role models/heroes were in an attempt to get them to see and understand there are many examples of people who have overcome challenges and they could apply that to their sobriety. Of course, there is always a method to my madness, this exercise also helps to keep them from being a perpetualĀ victim to addiction and their circumstances, at least in theory that what was the goal.

I started the exercise by giving examples of people who have and do inspire me. It’s changed over the years and circumstances. I read a lot of inspirational things; the blogs that a follow are full of inspirationalĀ people who are challenging themselves to go the next level. I’ve read books about people who have overcome addiction by using running such asĀ David Clark. He was addicted to drugs/alcohol and food now he’s an ultra marthaon runner. If you have not read his story I highly recommend. The people who complete theĀ Genesis Running ProgramĀ the program that got me started running are some of the most inspirationalĀ people you could ever meet. Barbara who I met through Genesis has become a mentor/friend, and btw finished third in her class at the Greenbrier Half-Marathon yesterday..go, Barbara! Has become one of my runningĀ roleĀ models.

Anyway, as I did this exercise with my groups last week I was amazed how many (just about all of them) had not given any thought to who their role models were and honestly most gave answers they thought I wanted to hear. One person, in particular, said there was no one who was a role model to her, no one who inspired her. No one on the planet earth. Yes, I asked that question. I didn’t entertain it because I knew what was going on, and it’s not just with my groups. I’m seeing it a lot all over the place…this need to be a constant victim. If she had identified a role model it meant there was a possibility she could overcome whatever it was she is going through as well. No more excuses. Will be difficult to get through it? Of course, is necessary to make theĀ changes to get through it? Yes. Anyone we admire will tell you their accomplishments didn’t come easy.

We as humans are not all the unique if we are really honest about it. If I had a dime for every time I heard “you don’t know me” seriously I would be sitting pretty. Our problems are about the same, they may come wrapped differently but basically, they are the same. Even with my current issue, I know someone has had this issue and gotten through it as I’m sure I will. Although IĀ will admit I’ve been very frustrated by it I won’t lie. And I’ve been in sort of a space the last few weeks, the trick is not to stay there and get stuck. Yesterday was not a good day I really wanted to be at that race. But I couldn’t even stand as a spectator, yesterday was one of my not so good days. So today I rested, heat and ice, I feel a little better today. I’ve read some read inspirational blog posts today which helped me to refocus. I don’t know about my client’s but I know I will be back on track to the goals that were set.

So who inspires you?

 

wp-1491149578212.jpg

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelorā€™s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Masterā€™s Degree. Iā€™m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

10 thoughts on “Who Inspires You?”

  1. Golly, I had to really think about that one myself! I’d hate to say I don’t have any role models because that sounds more desolate than I like to think I am. There are people I admire a great deal, like 80-year-old bodybuilder Ernestine Shepherd and some of the older women I’ve met who can walk a marathon every day like 70-year-old Ila Brandli who helped me get through my first marathon last fall, but I can’t say I think about them every day or follow their exploits online very much (like I would expect to do if I had a role model). And I can’t say I have actually modeled myself after anyone I knew either because I came from a family of low-expectations people who took what life gave them rather than shaping their lives in a way that made them happy. Or maybe they actually were happy enough being depressed, unfulfilled and static — I don’t know. Can you consider your visualized “The Me I’d Like To Be Someday” as your role model? Because she’s the one who keeps me moving forward most of the time. And I believe I’m going to start randomly asking relatives and friends who their role model is. I want to hear what other people say. Thanks for getting me thinking about it. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know what you mean about low expectations. I don’t know that I’ve modeled myself after someone but looked at others to prove that if they can do it (whatever the “it” is) then I do what need to do to meet my goals. I have a cousin in GA who wasn’t happy with her church so what did she do, she and her husband started their own! We limit ourselves, but it’s nice to a role model let us know goals are achievable and we don’t have to settle.

      Like

  2. Reading this, make me sit and think . Which is good because I realize that some people can be indirectly inspiring you. You never know who or how you impact others just for doing your own thing in my case working out and posting about it; because I choose to became a better version of myself.
    About your question: I thing one of my heroes is my dad a survior of a 2 heart attack and cancer. A teacher for 22 years. A person who I look forward, because he is a living example of Why Quit is not a option for more than 10 years of surving (Thanks God for that). Also my husband that choose other path from his family and became a wonderful man, a example to follow that you can make a difference and be a better person if you choose to do it.
    Is good to surround you with good people, good vibes…
    Thanks for this amazing post!
    If you have your goal set go for it!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! My grandmother is also in there for me as well. She’s 93 years young and does better than most young people. My band directors from both junior high and high school have both been big influences in my life and continue to be.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for mentioning me in your blog as someone who helps you with your running! It is a blessing to be able to participate in a sport that I love with friends that I have met along the running path. I’m thankful to call you one of those friends!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. About a hundred pop into my head!!!! Maya angelou, Mother Teresa, Buddha, Jesus, Rosa Parks, every person I know fighting chronic illness, every woman I know who has left an abusive relationship, my daughter for her courage and her heart, my husband for his empathy and ability to make me feel heard, literally a hundred people come to mind that inspire me. There is so much inspiration out there. I was inspired a few weeks ago by an OWL. I have been watching her for 5 months now. Her baby actually. But she came to feed her babies. Both were fussy, pecking at her, screeching at her. She had the food in her hands and for just 2 seconds she lifted her head and closed her eyes. She had to take that one moment to herself as both children were just pushing her to the limit, then she very patiently fed them. And that was inspiring! To say my role model would be my daughter, my husband, my friend who fought cancer but didnā€™t make it, an owl, are very easy to do because I appreciate them to the root of my being.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

