Sitting Is Bad For You…Pass It On

I’ve been going to physical therapy a few weeks now my last session was yesterday. My physical therapist is pretty cool, Mindy is my regular one she was on vacation yesterday so I was with someone else yesterday, another woman, and I’m ashamed to say I can’t remember her name.  Both women are fabulous and strong or my body is truly weak 🤣They do several things to test the strength in my legs and my back. It looks like my hip and my pelvis are also not cooperating either. My pelvis was uneven but after a few adjustments and exercises, it was a little evener. I have found out the key is my core. It all lies in the core. Pulling in with my bellybutton can correct a myriad of things, including posture. When I asked why my hips and pelvis were not in their proper placement she said well when we sit whether it is in our cars or for me at a desk all day we sometimes tend to lean either right or left. In the car on the console or either direction of the computer on our desk. Apparently, even though a 5k was the most okay for me to run, longer distances my body may not have been totally ready handle, in part due to the fact that I sit for a living.

I have always said people who work in fast food restaurants, waitress, nurses, etc, are in good shape and now I really know they are probably better prepared to run long distances than I  am because their bodies are in constant motion; all they would need to is learn form, pacing, etc. However, I now have to learn how to walk properly, that will help strengthen my core and correct my posture. It’s the basic stuff we hear it all the time. Pull in your belly button and when I started doing it before I left PT yesterday, initially I felt like I was stiff as if I was holding my breath it was uncomfortable.  Until I relaxed a little, it was better and I could tell my posture was better too. I know now this is also how I should have been running.  I have to consciously practice doing this, not crossing my legs, to keep my alignment correct so I don’t curve my spine any further, (yep found that out too), but with a couple of adjustments she was able to make improvements there as well. Just as an added something to all of this I started riding the stationary bike for 20 minutes to help strengthen my left leg as well.

When I finished my session yesterday she told me I have a lot of work to do to get better actually what she said was, “you have a long way to go”. I have mixed feelings about that statement. One that I got to this point in the first place but on the other hand I’m on the road to recovery, quite the mixed bag. My injections are scheduled for July 18th and she said that will help a lot.

The moral of the story if you sit get up and walk a few times a day it’s much better for you than sitting all day…

Have a good one..and keep on movin’ 😊

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

Leave a Reply

