Two Year Running Anniversary

Today is the Firecracker 5k here in Charleston (WV) two years ago that was my very first 5k; my first official race. It’s been two years since I started the sport of running. As most of you who have been reading this blog know, the last time I ran was December 17, 2016, which was the Jingle Bell 5k. Its been a long day today my grandmother was in the ER all night (she’s fine) but during the long wait, I remembered the Firecracker 5k was today. I thought that was my very first race; here is the post about that day (Race Day). It was a rainy day and I was one of those people that swore I would never run “in the elements” but not only was our last practice run in the rain but race day itself was in the rain. Never say never right. There are two things that stand out the most to me about that day, well, three, the first is being really nervous the day of the race. I had no idea how I would do, it was raining, and I didn’t want to finish last. The second thing I remember is during the turn around the rain stopped, the sun came out and the way it parted the sky it seemed like it was a sign that I could finish that race. I had about a mile and a half to go and I kept telling myself if I can get to the end of this block I’ll be okay, that was my mantra for the rest of that race. The third thing I remember about the race is just as I crossed the finish line I had no idea they would call my name as I crossed, that was cool, but the moment I crossed I remember a feeling that was almost indescribable. I couldn’t stop smiling, I was also impressed with my time 48 minutes, in the rain!

I felt so high, in that moment, I knew I was going to be okay. You see I started the running program for several reasons one of which was to regain my self-confidence. I had been through a difficult experience and doing this running program was part of helping me work through it. I learned through the program it wasn’t about just the running it was more than that; it was about who I was as a person. I think that is why I miss it so much now. I get/got a lot from running. It was after that race I decided to start working on my doctorate degree, another goal 😊, Of course, a year after this 5k I thought I would see if could complete a half-marathon. Never in my life would I think I could do 13.1miles; this became a big challenge with an injury. But I did it and that milestone became one of the biggest accomplishments of my life.

On my two year running anniversary I have “a long way to go” as my physical therapist said to me before I can be back out there again (hopefully next spring) I wish you all great running, great races, and never give up on your goals. 😊

wp-image-1094262674

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

6 thoughts on “Two Year Running Anniversary”

  1. What a nice memory. And I’m SO glad you are getting better! In the almost-9-years I’ve been running, I have been injured for up to 6 months a few times so I know how it feels to be sidelined. I hope the time flies by for you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

