Slow Progress….but Progress

Hi, all…I haven’t posted for awhile but I’ve been keeping busy. I’ve been doing my physical therapy the last several weeks, had my most recent session today. My physical therapist, Mindy told me today I was getting better she could tell I was improving! YAY! Great news! I still have good ways to go but hearing that I’m now making progress was fabulous. She said my alignment and mobility is better, my strength is improving too. Although I still some work to do she was excited by my progress, so was I. I’m not in nearly as much pain as I was it’s mostly uncomfortable and my heating pad helps with that, I can stand for longer periods time without pain. I thought I was getting better before today’s appointment but there’s nothing like confirmation from the professional.

I was supposed to have my injections this week but my doctor had an accident while cycling, he’s an ultra athlete, he was hurt pretty good so the injections had to be rescheduled for next month. So it’s physical therapy exclusively until then, although she did say I could do some walking, working my way up to 30-second intervals. She said I would be starting with the couch to 5k program. I was like I have to start at the beginning again?! Mindy said not exactly just doing the 30-second intervals to work my way back, “take it slow” she said 😆 I have some glute work to do; if I want to get back to running I have to strengthen the good ole bottom! I tell you I was weak all over! So now I have exercises added for that area. I was thinking the other day about possibly getting a Total Gym. It looks like a good way to get the strength training I need without going to an overcrowded gym waiting for a machine or trainers who don’t seem all that invested. That’s been my experience at my local Planet Fitness. Does anyone have one or ever used the Total Gym?

Other than my physical therapy I’ve been busy working on my dissertation that has been more of a daunting task than a thought it was going to be, taking care of things for my grandmother, who had a short stint in the hospital but she’s home now and doing well. Her new lift/recliner chair is being delivered tomorrow she’s looking forward to that. I also decided with the encouragement of my friend Barbara to register for the Greenbrier Half-Marathon next year on May 12, 2018. That gives me both something to work toward and look forward to doing. My name on my bib will be ComeBckKid. I had registered for this years half-marathon but due to all of this stuff, I was unable to participate. So it would be fitting to get back out there with this race.

I’m going to go on a short walk sometime this weekend and see how it goes. 🏃🏾‍♀️

 

wp-image-1318049398
Mindy, my physical therapist, and me after our session today.

 

 

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

8 thoughts on “Slow Progress….but Progress”

  1. Well you’re sounding very upbeat and that’s half the battle when recovering from an injury. The good thing about PT is they build you up in so many ways you would not have thought needed attention if you tried to rehab on your own. Sticking with everything is the challenge later (believe me, I’ve paid the price for not doing it). I think by May of 2018, you’re gonna rock it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey! It was some of the best news I’ve had all week! I needed it! She said once I started running I would definitely need her to be sure my body is alright. I feel so much better!

      Like

Leave a Reply

