Determination

I was having dinner last evening with a friend and colleague who retired from the field a year ago; so we meet for lunch, dinner or a movie to stay in touch. We both have had a tasking week so met for some Tai food. Una is getting over a bad summer cold she was telling me about knitting a sweater for her granddaughter which she was very proud of when she was finished. She then saw a pattern for a shawl and she thought she would begin on that project. However, this proved to be a little more difficult than the sweater, and for her knitting was a relaxing fun thing to do. Doing this shawl wasn’t fun for her even when she got assistance she found herself more frustrated and decided not to do this pattern. It was at this point in her story she stopped, looked at me said, “I have to give you this compliment, you are one of the most determined people I know; you start something and you will plow through to get it done, it’s one of your biggest strengths I just want you to know that”.

Interesting how we are given messages just when we need them. It’s been kind of a tough two weeks. I found out last week I’m getting better with my physical therapy which was good news, however, I know I still a lot have a lot of work to do. I have to stay vigilant in order to meet the goal of getting back to running and the May 2018 Half-Marathon. I’ve also had some frustrations with working on my dissertation…ugh! I’ve had to revamp it, change it and I’ve wanted to just throw it out the window.  So when Una said this to me, first I said thank you, because it was nice of her to say.  Then I started thinking throughout my life I guess this was true. When I was a freshman in college, I went to my academic advisor for assistance, instead of offering me help, she told me “I don’t think you will graduate from college”. I will never forget that one! Needless to say, I did and without her help. There have been situations like that, hard times that it would have been easy to throw in the towel and many times I came close but didn’t.

When I started running and training for my first 5k, there moments I didn’t think I would make it I even wrote a post about it Remembering the “Why”—Week 5  I also called a friend of mine during that time, who said to me “Tammi have you ever set a goal you didn’t meet?” Again, I thought about and the answer was “no”. So I pushed through and finished my first 5k. The same held true for my first half-marathon. It funny how we can forget when we are in the middle of a difficult or frustrating time, that we may not make it; then someone comes along and reminds us of the challenges we’ve gotten through or why we are working towards a certain goal, like my friend Una did last night. And it always just when we need it…funny how God works.

This one of the main reason I push my clients as hard as I do; I know their potential and many of them have never had anyone in their corner to tell them they can achieve their goals and dreams. It can be a battle sometimes but excuses won’t get them there.f

Don’t Stop Believin’ and keep on pushin’ 👊

06a004e13282c6aac81882f072004e90--track-field-track-quotes

 

Author: Tammi Lewis

I was born and raised in WV. I live in Charleston, WV. I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Charleston and from Marshall University Graduate College with my Master’s Degree. I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor. I have been in the field of mental health and substance abuse for about 26 years. I started running about two years ago by beginning a running program to help me prepare for my first 5k. I had wanted to run a 5k for years but never got around to doing it. Two years ago there was an event that happened which sent me on an emotional rollercoaster; starting this program was a way to get off that rollercoaster. Once I finished that first 5k I got the running bug and haven't stopped running since.

6 thoughts on “Determination”

  1. Great post tammi. Determination is the key. You have the power to do what you want in life if you have the determination to achieve it. Never stop… Go for that marathon… Looking forward to see that accomplishment of yours!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh the Dream Busters! I think there is something inside them unfulfilled that automatically lashes out at people whose determination or “unlikely hero” status makes them lash out without even knowing the subconscious reasons why. When I was a 37 year old premed in community college I had a professor who outlined this horribly difficult list of classes I would have to take if I wanted to be successful. I was first taken aback then decided “F you”, I’ll succeed anyway by following the list the college gave me. And when a bunch of us went to a minority premed conference, some guy told us all to shoot for geriatric podiatry instead of regular medicine because it would be a booming field as the population ages. Like, oh you inner city darkies aren’t gonna make so aim low. That was another F-You moment. Thank God there are some of us who face those naysayers with a rebellious streak instead of giving in! KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK. You will absolutely positively get what you are after!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

